What Happened to Pakistan's Muneeba Ali? Unusual Run Out at Women’s World Cup!

Synopsis
Key Takeaways
- Muneeba Ali's dismissal showcased the complexities of cricket laws.
- The incident sparked significant debate among players and officials.
- Understanding the rules is crucial in high-stakes matches.
- Pakistan's chase for 248 was complicated by this unexpected run out.
- Sportsmanship and rule adherence are vital in cricket.
Colombo (Sri Lanka), Oct 5 (NationPress) Extraordinary events unfolded at the R. Premadasa Stadium during the 2025 Women’s ODI World Cup match as Pakistan's opener Muneeba Ali faced an unusual run out. Pakistan is pursuing a challenging target of 248 after having bowled out India for 247.
The incident occurred on the final delivery of the fourth over when Muneeba narrowly escaped an lbw decision against Kranti Gaud, as India opted not to review despite replays indicating three reds. However, Muneeba had stepped out of her crease, and a throw from Deepti Sharma found the stumps.
Although Muneeba had grounded her bat initially, it lifted when Deepti’s throw hit the stumps. The on-field ruling was not out, but upon review by the third umpire, it was confirmed that her bat was airborne when the ball struck the stumps, resulting in her dismissal for just two runs.
This ruling incited lively discussions, with Pakistan’s captain Fatima Sana seen conversing with the fourth umpire while Muneeba stood close by. India celebrated the significant wicket, yet the peculiar nature of the run out left the Pakistani side visibly frustrated.
Fatima contended that Muneeba had grounded her bat and had no intention of running, arguing that the dismissal should be overturned. Nevertheless, the officials remained unconvinced, and as the debate progressed, Sidra Amin took her place at the crease.
According to the laws of cricket, since Muneeba was not running or diving, she was deemed out of her ground and therefore dismissed correctly, according to the umpires’ judgment.
Law 30 of the playing conditions states, “30.1 A batter shall be considered to be out of her ground unless some part of her person or bat is grounded behind the popping crease at that end.”
“30.1.2 However, a batter shall not be considered to be out of her ground if, in running or diving towards her ground and beyond, and having grounded some part of her person or bat beyond the popping crease, there is subsequent loss of contact between the ground and any part of her person or bat, or between the bat and person.”