J&K High Court rejects ED bid to add charges in JKCA ₹43.69 crore fund scam

Share:
Audio Loading voice…
J&K High Court rejects ED bid to add charges in JKCA ₹43.69 crore fund scam

Synopsis

The J&K and Ladakh High Court has refused to let the ED pile on receiving-and-concealing-stolen-property charges in the JKCA scam — but in the same breath, it overturned the trial court's finding that the ED had no right to ask. The ruling keeps the ₹43.69 crore misappropriation case tightly framed around conspiracy and breach of trust, while leaving a narrow evidentiary window open for the future.

Key Takeaways

The J&K and Ladakh High Court on 25 September 2026 rejected the ED's plea to add charges under Sections 411 and 424 of the RPC in the JKCA fund scam case.
Justice Sanjay Parihar held that the material available does not establish a 'distinct receipt or retention of stolen property' separate from the primary conspiracy.
The court simultaneously overturned the trial court's finding that the ED lacked locus standi to bring such an application.
The CBI filed a charge sheet in 2018 alleging misappropriation of ₹43.69 crore in BCCI grants against, among others, former J&K Chief Minister Dr Farooq Abdullah .
The ED claims JKCA received ₹94.06 crore from the BCCI between 2005–06 and 2011–12 ; assets worth ₹2.6 crore were attached in 2020 .
The trial court retains power under Section 216 CrPC to add charges if fresh evidence emerges during the ongoing trial.

The Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh High Court on Friday, 25 September 2026, rejected an application filed by the Enforcement Directorate (ED) seeking the addition of charges in a case linked to the Jammu and Kashmir Cricket Association (JKCA) fund scam, in which alleged misappropriation of ₹43.69 crore in BCCI grants is at the centre of the prosecution.

What the High Court Ruled

A bench of Justice Sanjay Parihar turned down the ED's prayer for invoking Sections 411 (dishonestly receiving stolen property) and 424 (dishonest or fraudulent removal or concealment of property) of the Ranbir Penal Code (RPC) against the accused. The court held that the substantive prayer lacked merit based on the material currently available.

Notably, the High Court simultaneously set aside a finding by the trial court — the Chief Judicial Magistrate (CBI cases) — which had ruled that the ED lacked 'locus standi' to move such an application at all. In doing so, the bench affirmed the ED's right to bring omissions to the court's notice, even while rejecting the specific charges sought.

The Court's Core Reasoning

Justice Parihar observed that the accusations arising from the CBI charge sheet were 'essentially founded upon alleged criminal misappropriation and breach of trust.' The court noted that 'the material presently available does not disclose a distinct receipt or retention of stolen property by the respondents in the capacity contemplated by that provision. Their alleged acts form part of the principal transaction of conspiracy, misappropriation and criminal breach of trust itself.'

The court further held that 'mere movement of funds through different accounts in furtherance of the alleged conspiracy cannot justify addition of a charge under Section 411 of the RPC.' However, it left the door open: should fresh evidence emerge during trial, the trial court retains the power under Section 216 of the Code of Criminal Procedure (CrPC) to alter or add charges accordingly.

Background: The JKCA Scam

The ED case is anchored in a CBI FIR that booked former JKCA office-bearers, including General Secretary Mohammed Saleem Khan and Treasurer Ahsan Ahmad Mirza. In 2018, the CBI filed a charge sheet against former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Dr Farooq Abdullah, Saleem Khan, Mirza, former JKCA Treasurer Mir Manzoor Gazanffer Ali, and former accountants Bashir Ahmad Misgar and Gulzar Ahmad Beigh.

The charge sheet alleged misappropriation of JKCA funds amounting to ₹43.69 crore from grants provided by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to promote the sport in the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir between 2002 and 2011. According to the ED, the JKCA received ₹94.06 crore from the BCCI across three different bank accounts during financial years 2005–2006 to 2011–2012 (up to December 2011).

ED's Money Laundering Allegations

In February 2020, the ED attached assets worth ₹2.6 crore belonging to Mirza and Gazanffer Ali, a member of the JKCA's finance committee, alleging that Mirza transferred large sums into his personal bank accounts, which were then withdrawn in cash or moved to other accounts.

According to the ED, ₹1.31 crore of the laundered funds was received by Gazanffer Ali, who served on the finance committee between 2006 and 2009 — a committee the agency alleged was 'arbitrarily constituted' by Dr Farooq Abdullah in his capacity as JKCA President. The two reportedly opened a joint personal bank account with Jammu and Kashmir Bank into which JKCA funds were transferred and then either withdrawn in cash or routed to other accounts, including that of Mirza's firm. From 2004 to March 2012, Mirza continued as the authorised signatory on JKCA bank accounts.

What Happens Next

Friday's ruling does not close the chapter on additional charges. The High Court's explicit preservation of the trial court's powers under Section 216 CrPC means the ED retains a pathway — contingent on new evidence surfacing during the ongoing trial. The CBI prosecution under Sections 120-B, 406, and 409 of the RPC continues, and the overarching money laundering case pursued by the ED remains live.

Point of View

But not a substantive victory for the accused — the court was careful to preserve future charging options. What the judgment does signal is the judiciary's reluctance to allow an ancillary agency to stretch the ambit of a primary CBI prosecution without concrete, distinguishable evidentiary grounds. The JKCA scam has been winding through courts for over a decade; the involvement of a former Chief Minister and former state cricket body officials makes every procedural ruling politically significant in J&K. The ED's locus standi being upheld is, in the long run, the more consequential part of the ruling — it keeps the agency in the game for the full duration of the trial.
NationPress
25 Sept 2026

Frequently Asked Questions

What did the J&K High Court decide in the JKCA fund scam case?
The J&K and Ladakh High Court rejected the ED's application to add charges of receiving and concealing stolen property under Sections 411 and 424 of the Ranbir Penal Code. Justice Sanjay Parihar held that the available evidence did not disclose a distinct act of receipt or concealment separate from the primary conspiracy and breach-of-trust charges.
What is the JKCA fund scam about?
The JKCA scam involves the alleged misappropriation of ₹43.69 crore in grants given by the BCCI to the Jammu and Kashmir Cricket Association to promote cricket in the erstwhile state between 2002 and 2011. The CBI filed a charge sheet in 2018 against several accused, including former J&K Chief Minister Dr Farooq Abdullah.
Does the ruling mean the ED is out of the JKCA case?
No. The High Court affirmed that the ED has locus standi — the legal right — to bring omissions to the court's notice. The rejection of the specific charges sought does not prevent the trial court from adding or altering charges under Section 216 CrPC if new evidence surfaces during the trial.
Who are the key accused in the JKCA scam?
The CBI charge sheet named former J&K Chief Minister Dr Farooq Abdullah, former JKCA General Secretary Mohammed Saleem Khan, Treasurer Ahsan Ahmad Mirza, former Treasurer Mir Manzoor Gazanffer Ali, and former accountants Bashir Ahmad Misgar and Gulzar Ahmad Beigh. The ED separately attached ₹2.6 crore in assets belonging to Mirza and Gazanffer Ali in February 2020.
How much money did the ED say the JKCA received from BCCI?
According to the ED, the JKCA received ₹94.06 crore from the BCCI across three bank accounts during financial years 2005–06 to 2011–12 (up to December 2011). Of this, ₹43.69 crore is alleged to have been misappropriated.
Nation Press
The Trail

Connected Dots

Tracing the thread behind this story — newest first.

8 Dots
  1. Latest 1 week ago
  2. 3 months ago
  3. 4 months ago
  4. 5 months ago
  5. 6 months ago
  6. 6 months ago
  7. 1 year ago
  8. 1 year ago
Google Prefer NP
On Google